What is Pineau ?

Pineau is a blend of 3/4 fresh non-fermented grape juice and 1/4 Cognac, 80% of which come from Colombard, a 90-year-old Vineyard, situated on hillsides overlooking the river Charente and benefiting from an ideal sun exposure.

François 1er distillation

Our Cognac is distilled in authentic red copper stills, which are among the very few still coal and wood-how, transmitted from generation to generation for last 60 years. Our stocks, aged in Limousin oak casks for many many years, allow us to produce superior quality Pineau.

The company François 1er

Pineau François 1er, well appreciated by french and foreign connoisseurs, was put on the market for the first time in February 1934. Gaston RIVIERE who launched it, took the decision to only put on the market Pineaux, aged in oak casks. The reputation of his brand soon reached beyond the French borders and nowadays, its quality is still highly praised. It received a gold medal at the “Foire Internationale de la Rochelle” the prize of Excellence at the 24th enologists’ congress, which had to choose among 1100 different high quality wines and it came first in the “Hachette des vins” guide.

The high quality of the Pineau François 1er

o The Vineyard, planted on hillsides overlooking the river Charente, has an ideal aspect.
o The Colombard grapes, 80% of which are grown on vines over 80 years old, produce a low quantity of juice of a very fruity taste and give our Pineau a delicious flavour unique to itself.
o Our Cognac is distilled in old copper stills which are amongst the very few remaining to be heated by coal fires.
o Our method of making Pineau follows a tradition which has continued and remained unchanged for 60 years.
o Our stock, very important in comparison with our sales enables us to sell only the Pineau which has had a great many years of maturing in casks exclusively made of Limousin oak.

References

” Very good Pineau, very well-balanced, with the depth of old brandy, but preserving a real freshness, quite representative of the Pineau Quality ” writes the Gault Millau.

The editor in ” Larousse des vins ” also writes: ” One of the best Pineau des Charentes is the one produced by the RIVIERE family on the Gâtinauds Domain, one of the oldest winegrowers in the region, specialized in Pineau. It is unrivalled in perfection with a sumptuous bouquet and a suave flavor, which merge in a dazzling and exquisite harmony and is sold on the market under the name of Pineau François 1er.

Qu’est ce que le Pineau ?

Le pineau est un mélange constitué à 75% de jus de raisin frais (non fermenté) et de 25% de Cognac. Provenant à 80% de vignes âgées de 90 ans, le Colombard planté sur des coteaux dominant la Charente bénéficie d’une exposition idéale.

La distillation François 1er

Notre Cognac est distillé dans d’authentiques alambics en cuivre rouge, qui restent parmi les rares à être chauffés au bois et au charbon. Cette élaboration est le fruit d’un savoir-faire qui se perpétue traditionnellement depuis 60 ans. Notre réserve très importante, dont le vieillissement en fût de chêne du Limousin dure de très nombreuses années, nous permet de produire des pineaux de qualité supérieure.

a003
a006
a004

L’entreprise François 1er

Le Pineau François 1er, apprécié des connaisseurs français et étrangers, fût commercialisé pour la première fois en Février 1934. Gaston RIVIERE, son créateur, entreprend de ne mettre en vente que des pineaux ayant vieilli en fûts de chêne. La renommée de sa production s’étend rapidement au-delà de nos frontières. Aujourd’hui, encore cette qualité est reconnue : Médaille d’Or à la foire Internationale de La Rochelle, Grand Prix d’Excellence au 24ème Congrès des oenologues qui jugeaient 1100 échantillons de vins à Haute Expression ; 1ère place sur le guide Hachette des Vins.

a004
a005
a006
a001
a002
a003

Les facteurs de qualité du Pineau François 1er

o Planté sur des coteaux dominant la Charente, le vignoble a une exposition idéale.
o Le raisin de Colombard provenant à 80% de vignes âgées de plus de 80 ans, produit un jus de raisin peu abondant et très fruité. Il donne à notre pineau une saveur délicieuse qui n’appartient qu’à lui.
o Notre Cognac est distillé dans de vieux alambics en cuivre rouge qui restent encore parmi les rares à être chauffés au charbon.
o Notre façon d’élaborer suivant une tradition qui se perpétue, est restée inchangée depuis 60 ans.
o Notre stock, très important par rapport à nos ventes, nous permet de ne mettre sur le marché que du Pineau vieilli en fûts de chêne du Limousin durant de très nombreuses années.

Appréciations

Appréciation de Gault & Millau :  » Très bon équilibre, goût de vieux certain, mais en conservant une incontestable fraîcheur. Représentatif de la qualité du Pineau. « 

Appréciation du Larousse des Vins :  » L’un des meilleurs Pineaux des Charentes est celui qui est produit par les Rivières au Domaine des Gâtinauds, une des plus anciennes exploitations viticoles, spécialisée dans l’élaboration du pineau. D’une perfection inégalable, il est commercialisé sous le nom de Pineau François 1er, et offre un bouquet somptueux, et une saveur suave. Exquise harmonie. «